The Design Advocacy Group (DAG) is a public forum and advocate for design quality and equity in the planning, architecture, preservation and physical development of Philadelphia.



We are a volunteer organization of more than 1,600 members from a broad spectrum of disciplines who share an interest in Philadelphia’s design, development and planning.



DAG hosts free monthly meetings that are open to the public, featuring presentations, information sharing and robust discussion on topics related to the urban environment. 


DAG also takes positions on select matters, reaching out to government, decision makers and media and using its own communications channels. The Steering Committee deliberates and approves DAG’s advocacy positions. Four standing task forces on critical, perennial issues – Complete Streets and Transportation, Design Equity, Historic Preservation and the Waterfronts – help inform those positions.



DAG's ultimate and overarching goal is to create a culture – shared by all Philadelphia residents, neighborhood groups, city agencies, business interests and the development community – that accepts nothing less than excellence in design and planning throughout every neighborhood.


And …

DAG is a project of CultureTrust Greater Philadelphia, a charitable 501(c)(3) trust supporting diverse cultural practices in the Philadelphia region.




In late 2001, a group of six Philadelphia architects, planners and design junkies sat down to a brown-bag lunch to share their worries about the future of the physical city.


In the years since, Philadelphia has experienced boom-and-bust real estate cycles and enacted significant planning and zoning reforms. Now, as the city faces unprecedented development pressure, DAG’s mission is more important than ever.


Read Our Bylaws

Steering Committee

Task Force Members


James Templeton, Co-Chair

Nando Micale, Co-Chair

Richard Avicolli

Aaron Bell

Ed Bronstein

Sara Girotto

Allison Harvey

Joyce Lee

Stephen Perzan

Peter Piven

Andrew Ross

Julie Ulrich

Kelly Vresilovic

Design Equity

Verónica Ayala Flores, Chair

Olaitan Awomolo

Donna Carney

Avery Harmon

Danielle DiLeo Kim

Michael Kimmey

Gabriella Nelson

Michelle Sahl

Ian Smith

Sharon Rice

Keiko Tsurata Cramer

Julie Ulrich

Jesse Wilks


Patrick Grossi, Chair

Sarah Blitzer

Rosalind Foltz

Nathaniel A Hammitt

Arielle Harris

Starr Herr-Cardillo

Rob Kettell

Rob Kurzman

Leslie Linnebur

Dana Rice

Venise Whitaker

Josh Yeager

Morris Zimmerman

Complete Streets

Cassidy Boulan

Matthew Cox

Jon Geeting

Woo Kim

Jonas Maciunas

Dave Munson

Michel Saewert

Keri Salerno